He Judges Us

Does God judge? Of Course he does. …At the end of time, right? Yes he does.

He judges us during our lives here on earth too. Certain things matter so much that he just steps in with a point of action; for example, mistreatment of the poor and afflicted, a king’s poor choice .  I’m sure if we looked longer we could find other examples. If you do,  please share them with us in the comment section below.

Dear Friends, lest you think the God of Christians is only concerned with judging his own people,  the truth is that he judges non-Christians and Christians. That means all of us. He does so with justice and righteousness and he is absolutely true to his word no matter who you are. (Kinda cool there is only One Real Judge for everybody.)

Though we try to engage judgment, settling disputes is a rough go for us as a society and personally  but not for him.

Jesus is the True Judge and judgment belongs to Him because the One who exists and causes all things to exist has handed judgment over to him.   Yet he constantly gives his Father that title, that place of honor as the ultimate judge.

 

30 I am able to do nothing from Myself [independently, of My own accord—but only as I am taught by God and as I get His orders]. Even as I hear, I judge [I decide as I am bidden to decide. As the voice comes to Me, so I give a decision], and My judgment is right (just, righteous), because I do not seek or consult My own will [I have no desire to do what is pleasing to Myself, My own aim, My own purpose] but only the will and pleasure of the Father Who sent Me. John 5:30 (AMP)

 

I’m so glad that judgment is his responsibility.

In fact, when it comes to judging, I have followed the example of Jesus when people expect a decision, a pardon, or an indictment from me. This takes the form of apologizing for swearing in my presence, laughing at course jokes while I am in the room then backpedaling because I’m there, sharing stories of how an individual has been wronged severely or slightly, being pressed to take sides between others who have disputes of various kinds with other people. Though I’m still not quite sure what elicits these conversations, I try to convey the concept very clearly that I have not been appointed as a legal judge in their case but that judgment belongs to Jesus. When I communicate this effectively, I realign my relationships perfectly and enjoy a lot less stress.

Jesus, though all judgment has been given to him, had no desire to intervene when presented with the same opportunity of judging a legal earthly matter saying, “Who made me  your judge?”

Because we humans are hardwired with a sense of right, wrong, and justice, we must train ourselves to release ourselves from the burden of judging and place it exactly where it belongs – on the shoulders of Jesus.  We do this through repentance and prayer.

Take a moment and think about Jesus’ shoulders. Picture that long arduous trudge to Golgotha bloody step after bloody step. The One to whom all judgment was given bore all God’s wrath against us. Yet ever since God raised him from the dead, he lives to intercede   on our behalf.

Amazing! Freeing. True.

Leave a Reply

